EBA Thematic Libraries


Wetlands are typically classified in three categories: marine and coastal wetlands (estuaries, near-shore areas, coral reefs), inland wetlands (lakes, rivers, oases, wet grasslands and peatlands) and human-made wetlands (reservoirs, fish ponds). Wetland ecosystems provide a wide range of ecosystem services, including breeding habitats, water filtering, as well as cultural and aesthetic values. Wetlands have been recognized as the most biologically diverse of all ecosystems, as well as the most vulnerable and with the highest rate of loss. Changing temperature and precipitation patters are likely to cause alterations in biodiversity and wetland structure. EbA interventions in wetlands represent a cost effective way of addressing climate change impacts such as increased flooding risks.

4 result(s) found
© Chunli Zhang
21 Dec 2015
In the project 'Water supplement for wetlands in the Yellow River Delta', the Yellow River Delta National Nature Reserves Administration, in collaboration with project...
By Shahnoor Habib Munmun
9 Oct 2015
In the LDCF-funded project "Community-based adaptation to climate change through coastal afforestation", the Government of Bangladesh implemented multiple climate change...
27 May 2015
Coastal areas around the world are vulnerable to climate change impacts. Green Coast is a community-based coastal ecosystem restoration programme implemented in Indonesia, Sri...
WWF - Viet Nam
21 May 2015
The rich natural capital endowment and ecosystem services in the Greater Mekong Sub-region (GMS) have continued to play a crucial role in supporting economic growth. Recognition...